• Hospice
  • Medicare-certified

Gentiva

6161 Blue Lagoon Dr Ste 170, Miami, FL 33126

Family caregiver survey rating3 out of 5 starsAll ratings
Ownership
For-profit
Medicare-certified
Yes

At a glance

Do they serve my address?
  • Serves 171 ZIP codes
Check a ZIP code
How fast can they start?
Where is care given?
  • Share of care days in 2024: At home 49%, In assisted living 39%, In a nursing facility 10%, In a hospital 1%, In a skilled nursing facility 1%
  • Home care and other levels of care, as reported
Care & services
Which levels of care?
  • Not provided yet. Medicare requires hospices to offer all four levels of care. Ask where they provide each one. Questions to ask
What do other families say?
  • Family caregiver survey rating:3 out of 5 stars
  • Hospice Care Index: 10 out of 10
All ratings
Help for caregivers?
  • Not provided yet. Ask the hospice about respite care, grief support, and volunteers. Questions to ask
Do they take my insurance?
  • Medicare-certified: Yes
  • Medicaid and Medicare Advantage plans: Not provided yet. Check with your plan. Questions to ask
Coverage

Care & services

Comfort-focused care for people with a terminal illness, with support for their families.

Services

  • Home care onlyNo
  • Home care and other levels of careYes

As reported. “Not reported” means no value was published. It does not mean “no.”

Where care was given

Share of the hospice’s care days by setting in 2024, as reported to CMS
SettingShare of care days
At home49%
In assisted living39%
In a nursing facility10%
In a hospital1%
In a skilled nursing facility1%

Settings with no care days that year are not listed.

Not provided yet: levels of care, caregiver support, and languages spoken. Ask the hospice. Questions to ask

Availability & coverage

Accepting new patients
Not provided yet. Ask when they can start. Questions to ask
Medicare-certified
Yes (certified since June 5, 2006)
Medicaid
Not provided yet. Ask the hospice. Questions to ask
Medicare Advantage and other insurance
Not provided yet. Check with your plan. Questions to ask

Check with your plan before you go. Some plans require an in-network provider and approval first. Medicare can cover this type of care when its conditions are met. What is covered depends on your situation and plan. A hospital discharge planner, your plan, or Medicare.gov can tell you what applies.

Service area

Serves 171 ZIP codes.

Quality & safety

Star ratings

  • Family caregiver survey rating

    3 out of 5 stars

    Summary of what family caregivers said about the hospice in a national survey. CMS publishes it only when enough surveys were returned, so many hospices have no rating. It is not a rating of the hospice's clinical quality.

    Source: Hospice care - Provider CAHPS Hospice Survey Data, as of August 7, 2026.

Key measures

Measures are as published by Medicare for the period shown. Some are adjusted for how sick patients were, so compare similar providers. “Not reported” means no value was published. It does not mean “no.”

  • Caregivers who would definitely recommend the hospice

    78.0%

    Official name: YES, they would definitely recommend the hospice

    Share of caregivers who would definitely recommend the hospice.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025. Source: Hospice care - Provider CAHPS Hospice Survey Data, as of August 7, 2026.

  • Caregivers who said the patient always got help for pain and symptoms

    71.0%

    Official name: The patient always got the help they needed for pain and symptoms

    Share of caregivers who said the patient always got the help needed for pain and symptoms.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025. Source: Hospice care - Provider CAHPS Hospice Survey Data, as of August 7, 2026.

  • Hospice Care Index score (0-10)

    10 out of 10

    Official name: Hospice Care Index Overall Score

    Hospice Care Index score from 0 to 10: one point for each of ten care indicators where the hospice does better than most. Higher means more points.

    Higher is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024. Source: Hospice - Provider Data, as of August 7, 2026.

  • Patients who got all 7 recommended assessments when hospice care began

    94.4%

    Official name: Hospice and Palliative Care Composite Process Measure

    Share of patients who got all of the hospice care processes (composite of the process measures).

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025. Source: Hospice - Provider Data, as of August 7, 2026.

  • Patients visited by a nurse or social worker on at least 2 of their last 3 days of life

    58.4%

    Official name: Hospice Visits in the Last Days of Life

    Share of patients who received visits from a registered nurse or medical social worker on at least 2 of their last 3 days of life.

    Higher is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024. Source: Hospice - Provider Data, as of August 7, 2026.

All 38 other measures
  • Hospice and Palliative Care Treatment Preferences

    99.9%

    Share of patients whose treatment preferences were asked about and documented at admission.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • Beliefs & Values Addressed (if desired by the patient)

    99.8%

    Share of patients whose beliefs and values were addressed, if the patient wanted that.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • Hospice and Palliative Care Pain Screening

    99.0%

    Share of patients screened for pain at admission.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • Hospice and Palliative Care Pain Assessment

    96.9%

    Share of patients with pain who got a full pain assessment.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • Hospice and Palliative Care Dyspnea Screening

    98.5%

    Share of patients screened for shortness of breath (dyspnea) at admission.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • Hospice and Palliative Care Dyspnea Treatment

    98.7%

    Share of patients with shortness of breath who received treatment.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • Patient Treated with an Opioid Who Are Given a Bowel Regimen

    95.3%

    Share of patients treated with an opioid who were also given a bowel regimen.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2024 to Sep 2025.

  • CHC/GIP provided (% days)

    1.0%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of days with continuous home care or general inpatient care when more intensive care was needed.

    Higher is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Gaps in nursing visits (% elections)

    51.1%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of elections with gaps between skilled nursing visits.

    Lower is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Early live discharges (% live discharges)

    9.8%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of live discharges that happened early (within 7 days of admission).

    Lower is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Late live discharges (% live discharges)

    36.5%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of live discharges that happened late (180 or more days after admission).

    Lower is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Burdensome transitions, Type 1 (% live discharges)

    14.1%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of live discharges followed by a hospital stay and hospice readmission (burdensome transition, type 1).

    Lower is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Burdensome transitions, Type 2 (% live discharges)

    2.5%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of live discharges followed by a hospital stay where the patient died (burdensome transition, type 2).

    Lower is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Per-beneficiary spending (U.S. dollars $)

    $22,994

    Hospice Care Index indicator: average Medicare spending per beneficiary in US dollars.

    Lower is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Nurse care minutes per routine home care days (minutes)

    19.5 minutes

    Hospice Care Index indicator: nurse care minutes per routine home care day.

    Higher is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Skilled nursing minutes on weekends (% minutes)

    11.8%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of skilled nursing minutes provided on weekends.

    Higher is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Visits near death (% decedents)

    93.6%

    Hospice Care Index indicator: share of patients who died who received a visit near the end of life.

    Higher is better. Period: Jan 2023 to Dec 2024.

  • Average Daily Census

    1,116

    Average number of patients the hospice cares for each day. Shows the size of the hospice.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Hospice served at least 1 patient with both Medicare and Medicaid coverage during one year

    Yes

    Whether the hospice served at least one patient with both Medicare and Medicaid coverage during one year (yes or no).

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Hospice served at least 1 patient enrolled in Medicare Advantage during one year

    Yes

    Whether the hospice served at least one patient enrolled in Medicare Advantage during one year (yes or no).

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • The hospice team provided the right amount of emotional and spiritual support

    90.0%

    Share of caregivers who said the hospice team gave the right amount of emotional and spiritual support.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025.

  • Caregivers rated the hospice agency a 9 or 10

    78.0%

    Share of caregivers who rated the hospice 9 or 10 on a scale of 0 to 10.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025.

  • The hospice team always treated the patient with respect

    88.0%

    Share of caregivers who said the hospice team always treated the patient with respect.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025.

  • The hospice team always communicated well

    78.0%

    Share of caregivers who said the hospice team always communicated well.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025.

  • The hospice team always provided timely help

    71.0%

    Share of caregivers who said the hospice team always provided timely help.

    Higher is better. Period: Oct 2023 to Sep 2025.

  • Care Provided in Assisted Living Facility

    39.0%

    Share of care days provided in an assisted living facility.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Care Provided in Home

    49.0%

    Share of care days provided in the patient's home.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Care Provided in Inpatient Hospice Facility

    0.0%

    • CMS note: This value reflects one year of data only. It does not mean the hospice cannot provide care in this setting now.

    Share of care days provided in an inpatient hospice facility.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Care Provided in Inpatient Hospital Facility

    1.0%

    Share of care days provided in an inpatient hospital.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Care Provided in Nursing Facility

    10.0%

    Share of care days provided in a nursing facility.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Care Provided in All other locations

    0.0%

    • CMS note: This value reflects one year of data only. It does not mean the hospice cannot provide care in this setting now.

    Share of care days provided in all other locations.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Care Provided in Skilled Nursing Facility

    1.0%

    Share of care days provided in a skilled nursing facility.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Percent of Patients with Cancer

    17.0%

    Share of patients whose primary diagnosis is cancer.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Percent of Patients with Circulatory/heart disease

    29.0%

    Share of patients whose primary diagnosis is circulatory or heart disease.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Percent of Patients with Dementia

    28.0%

    Share of patients whose primary diagnosis is dementia.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Percent of Patients with Other Conditions

    7.0%

    Share of patients whose primary diagnosis is another condition.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Percent of Patients with Respiratory disease

    12.0%

    Share of patients whose primary diagnosis is respiratory disease.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

  • Percent of Patients with Stroke

    8.0%

    Share of patients whose primary diagnosis is stroke.

    For information. Period: Jan 2024 to Dec 2024.

Reviews

Reviews are from families and patients, moderated under our Review guidelines.

No family reviews yet.

Did you or your family get care here? Your experience can help other families choose.

Write a review

Your name and email are never shown with your review.

Report this review

Report a review only if it breaks one of our Review guidelines (opens in a new tab). Our team checks every report against the same rules. A report alone never removes a review, and we never remove a review because it’s negative or critical.

Which guideline does it break?

0 of 1,000 characters. Only our team sees this.

About this provider

Type of care
Hospice
Ownership type
For-profit
Ownership as reported
For-Profit
Medicare certification date
June 5, 2006
CMS Certification Number
101548

Location

Address
6161 Blue Lagoon Dr Ste 170
Miami, FL 33126
County
Miami-Dade

Questions to ask when you call

Use these questions when you call or visit. They cover what Medicare data cannot tell you, like whether a bed is open today.

Printing this page prints just this checklist, with the provider’s name, phone number, and address.

Before you call

Questions to ask

Adapted from: Medicare: Suggested Questions to Ask When Choosing a Hospice (opens in a new tab); Medicare Hospice Benefits (opens in a new tab).

Nearby hospice providers

  • Bristol Hospice - Miami Dade, LLCMiami, FLNot rated
    • CMS note: Too few surveys were returned for CMS to publish a star rating.
    0.8 miles from this office
  • Continuum Care of Miami Dade LLCMiami, FLNot rated
    • CMS note: Too few surveys were returned for CMS to publish a star rating.
    1.1 miles from this office
  • Medcare HospiceMiami, FLNot rated
    • CMS note: Too few surveys were returned for CMS to publish a star rating.
    2 miles from this office
  • Amedisys HospiceHialeah, FLNot rated
    • CMS note: Too few surveys were returned for CMS to publish a star rating.
    5.9 miles from this office

Source: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, data as of August 19, 2026.

CMS datasets used on this page
  • Hospice - General Information, as of August 19, 2026
  • Hospice care - Provider CAHPS Hospice Survey Data, as of August 7, 2026
  • Hospice - Provider Data, as of August 7, 2026
  • Hospice - Zip Data, as of August 18, 2026